Tanzania sits in East Africa and is bordered by Kenya and Uganda in the north, Rwanda, Burundi and the Democratic Republic of the Congo in the west, and Zambia, Malawi and Mozambique in the south. To the east it borders the Indian Ocean. The country’s official name is the United Republic of Tanzania and comprises Tanganyika, which is the large mainland territory and Zanzibar, the offshore archipelago. Dodoma is the country’s political capital and Dar es Salaam is the principal commercial city.

Formerly a German colony from the 1880s through 1919, the post-World War 1 accords and the League of Nations charter designated the area a British Mandate (except for a small area in the northwest, which was ceded to Belgium and later became Rwanda and Burundi). British rule came to an end in 1961 after a relatively peaceful transition to independence and Tanganyika and the islands of Zanzibar were united in 1964. Today the people of this beautiful country paint a colourful picture with over 126 ethnic groups each with its own cultural idiosyncrasies and language!

This is a land of rolling plains, dramatic mountain ranges, great lakes and pristine white sandy beaches. With the largest wildebeest migration on earth, some of the world’s most cunning predators, vibrant tribes and unspoiled coral reefs, you have a holiday destination to satisfy even the most discerning traveller. Tanzania’s close proximity to the equator provides an idyllic climate making it a year round holiday destination whether you are looking for a beach escape, a once in a lifetime safari or a thrill seeking climb to the summit of Mt Kilimanjaro.

Approximately 38% of Tanzania's land area is set aside in protected areas for conservation. Tanzania has 16 national parks, plus a variety of game and forest reserves, including the Ngorongoro Conservation Area. In western Tanzania, Gombe Stream National Park is the site of Jane Goodall's ongoing study of chimpanzee behaviour, which started in 1960.

Destinations in Tanzania can roughly be divided into four areas; the North, the South, the West and the Swahili Coast. Find out all about the National Parks and special areas on the pages for each section:

The North

Tanzania’s most well known wildlife attractions are located in the northern part of the country and include the Serengeti National Park, Ngorongoro Crater, Tarangire National Park and Lake Manyara National Park. The Serengeti National park encompasses the world famous great migrations of animals.

The South

The National Parks in the Southern Circuit have gradually earned reputation amongst connoisseurs as the best-kept secret on the African safari circuit offering remote, untouched swathes of game-filled wilderness with an exclusive born of isolated access.

The West

The Western circuit falls under the western highlands which lace a ridge of Rift Valley escarpment, high above Lake Tanganyika and within the game-filled enclaves that sit along its spine there exist two small perfectly formed worlds of natural splendour, and one vast expanse of prime African bush.

The Coast

This marks Tanzania’s coastline of tropical palm fringed beaches. One has a chance to view underwater coral gardens. There is unlimited potential for deep sea diving and fishing.